TOSS ~ The Original Sandwich Shoppe: Try the roasted turkey sandwich

TOSS ~ The Original Sandwich Shoppe

58A Greenwich Ave. [Greenwich & Perry]

New York, NY

http://deli-nyc.com/

Should you try? Yes, and get the roasted turkey sandwich (at least for the first time).

TOSS Rudy's Special

I went here for the first time recently, but definitely coming back. It’s a great place to grab a quick sandwich, and the friendly employees will help you make your selection. Their most popular sandwich is the Rudy’s Special Fresh Roasted Turkey(Herbal Mayo, Romaine Lettuce & Tomato; $8.95), and once you try it you’ll see why.

TOSS white & dark meat roasted turkey

They make their own roasted turkey, which is pretty delicious and moist. But I think the best part is they ask if you want white meat or dark meat. Seriously? Never even heard of a place doing that. I ended up getting a mix of white and dark meat (obviously to sample both). The herbal mayo was tasty and garlicky, and I added provolone to my sandwich (they offer various cheeses; additional $0.50 – $1). Another thing I really liked is they have a whole wheat baguette.

The only thing is I got the sandwich to go, and since the turkey is hot and it has mayo, the sandwich got a little soggy and oily. I’d recommend eating at one of their 10 or so tables, but either way definitely come try if you’re anywhere nearby. One last thing. They have more sandwiches than what’s on their online menu, but I’m not sure if those are only specials and how often they change them.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Greenwich Village, NYC, West Village

Author:Eric

Sampling Food, Sharing Reviews – NYC (and beyond) www.can-i-try.com

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “TOSS ~ The Original Sandwich Shoppe: Try the roasted turkey sandwich”

  1. Peter
    February 13, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Good Choice… I’m a massive fan of Original Sandwich Shoppe. Another grand sandwich shop in West Village is “Sanpanino” on Hudson. No direct recommendations for type of sandwich but just get it on the foccacia and get it heated. Keep up the good work!

    • Eric
      February 13, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

      Thanks Peta Pita! I’ll have to check out Sanpanino. My friend from work’s distant family actually owns TOSS so that’s how I found it….

  2. lily
    February 26, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    The bread looks yummmy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oaxaca Taqueria: Another Greenwich Ave Gem | Can I Try? - May 10, 2012

    […] Ave has somewhat recently turned into a great food street, with TOSS, the Meatball Shop, and Yerba Buena Perry. Now add Oaxaca Taqueira to that list. The small […]

Leave a comment